running towards cloud & blossom

24 03 2011

We are impatient for the season to change, each in our own way, shaking off forecasts of snow and the heavier layers of winter.

searching for spring finding spring flowers

Bebe spends most of our daily walks at a run – thrilled with the warmer weather, the flocks of birds, the hints of flowers, the return of greenery – learning and loving all the small markers of spring’s return. While running full-throttle across a field, he has found that when you spy tiny flowers in the grass, a hard stop usually turns into a slow forward tumble. And sometimes, the slow tumble is an excellent excuse to try out the week’s new gymnastics skill – meanwhile admiring the tiny flowers at top volume.

He is firmly unconvinced that the flowering trees are, in fact, flowering. Snow, he insists patiently. Mama, it’s snow. And he sighs and waves at the white-covered trees, giving me a wee glimpse of future adolescence, when parents seem to have archaic and strange opinions about the world. Yes, my darling – snow, surrounded by green fields, and completely delightful.

And my impatience manifests in undone chores – time stolen away for running outside, with quick bits of crafting crammed in before bedtime. Quick, impetuous bits that sometimes end in Rip and Redo:

cloud bolero - sleeve error

Sleeves + DPNs + lace = Tricky. Mix tricky with my impatient subsitution of too-small needles (rather than waiting a day to go and buy the proper size) and I have time and yardage that must be ripped out, discarded, and reknit. Sigh… I really want to get this done in time for Maryland Sheep & Wool – preferably well before then, so that I can wear it a lot before summer’s heat descends like a sauna and all woolens retreat to hibernate away in cold storage.

But sometimes impatience ends with a quick craft fix and unexpectedly large blossoms, one of many small-ish gifts for the family Easter baskets. Seriously, these are way bigger than I’d expected. I hope the nieces like them… (BTW nieces!! and their mothers!! look away from this picture – or if you’ve seen it already, contemplate how you would like to adorn your wardrobe with these ginormous flowers. I have to say, it looks pretty awesome clipped to a hat.)

ginormous rose brooch

Details
Craft: crochet
Pattern: Rose Brooch by Daniela Herbertz (free pattern on Ravelry)

And you? Has the shift of seasons led you into mad dashes through shrubbery and craft projects?

Actions

Information

8 responses

25 03 2011
Sam

Dashes through shrubbery? You’ll have to ask Beth about that. ๐Ÿ™‚

29 03 2011
Virginia

Feh. Warmer weather? It’s been in the 20s every morning for the past two weeks when I’ve taken Georgia into school. I’m really READY for warmer weather. REALLY.

I got the cherry blossom, by the way! Georgia immediate tried to steal it. I had to steal it back. ๐Ÿ™‚ Thank you.

29 03 2011
perches

I think I may have jinxed our weather – it’s snowed and been pretty cold since my last post. I was actually wearing capris and sandals last week! Oh well, surely winter will go away soon… Glad you got the brooch!

29 03 2011
Meryl

Oh my gosh–that lace sleeve is beautiful!

30 03 2011
Nancy

I can hardly wait to see your finished lace knit…and I’m hoping to make it to the Sheep & Wool fest too again this year. Maybe we can meet up!

30 03 2011
perches

Sweet! Let’s definitely try to meet up. ๐Ÿ™‚ MDS&W has become an annual reunion-event with my bestest gals from college. We always go on Saturday, starting right before it officially opens and leaving in the early afternoon.
This project is from one of Ysolda’s patterns, so I will totally geek out if she is there again this year.

22 09 2011
Gail

I know this is an old post and you may not see my reply but would you be willing to share what pattern you used for the knitted sweater? It looks like exactly what I’ve been wanting to knit for ever so long! Thank you.

22 09 2011
perches

Hi Gail! The sweater you asked about is from a free pattern called the Little Coffee Bean Cardigan by Elizabeth Smith. Enjoy ๐Ÿ™‚




