explore and embellish

17 02 2011

What would you do on a warmly unwinterish day, when the sky is that perfect clear blue and the breeze feels like a kind hand skimming across your face?

If you’re Bebe, that day might involve running down the street, yearning mightily over an antique wooden train set, marveling over wind toys staked outside the museum shop, and happily munching on sweet potato fries. For two mamas, the day also included browsing through antique malls, finding a cat napping in a shop’s window display, great lunch, and hours of good conversation.

Today Bebe and I headed into the historic downtown area of Fredericksburg, VA, together with my Summer Vintage Swap partner (Nancy of summer sky: learning as I go). We have been planning a Vintage Browsing/Shopping trip for several months – it was delightful to finally meet each other in person and go exploring.

I found these pretty vintage pieces:

vintage daytrip finds

a pair of crocheted doilies; a set of sky-blue buttons and one fancy button; and a really soft, embellished table linen. Sweet!

I am sewing the doilies onto some of the bird fabric I mentioned last week. My original thought (and reason for purchasing the doilies) was to make a small embellished bag for carrying around my craft or knitting projects. I still love this idea, but it’s also occured to me that these would make lovely quilt squares – the doilies over the bird fabrics like lacy nests, with simple off-white squares interspersed between the embellished squares.

doily embellishment

However, I still have to finish the rainbow picnic blanket from last summer (eeesh), so probably I should just stick with making project bags. Ne?

For more sewing fun, check out the Sewing Bee at Adirondack Mama.

Actions

Information

8 responses

17 02 2011
elizabeth

Oh what wonderful finds. I love the dollies and blue buttons. Sounds like a wonderful day.

Thanks for stopping by for a visit today.

Blessings, Elizabeth

21 02 2011
perches

Thank you!

17 02 2011
Sandi Alcantara

I love your finds! Your description of the quilt sounds lovely…..sure hope you do it as I would love to see it!

21 02 2011
perches

I think I’m going for the quilt – it also gives me the great excuse of more vintage browsing to collect more doilies.

18 02 2011
Jen Letts

I love the doileys over the nest fabric! If a quilt is a tad much right now, what about pillows? I think they’d make lovely Spring pillows…

21 02 2011
perches

Oh, I would love pillows, that’s such a great idea! Alas, I’m pretty sure they would be quickly destroyed – my toddler is currently in the “adore this pretty thing and then deconstruct it” phase of life. Maybe in a couple more years? 🙂

19 02 2011
Nancy

I had so much fun too! Let’s do it again, and soon.

21 02 2011
perches

Definitely!




