love in color

1 02 2011

“Every artist dips his brush in his own soul, and paints his own nature into his pictures.”
-by Henry Ward Beecher

love

Playing along with the In Color group, led by Ginny of Small Things. (To my Google/subscription readers: this is mostly pictures, you may want to skip.)

February should start off with a bang – lots of red, moving on to the next chapter of the year. And of course, red is one of the colors of love, in preparation for Valentines.

anthropologie - long version

My Anthropologie-inspired cardigan, aka the sweater I’ve worn all autumn/winter. Forgot to take a picture when I finished it in August (oy), so here is the warm and fuzzy perfection five months later. It was supposed to be a cropped shrug, but I loved a couple of the long variations, and as first full-size sweaters go, it is ridiculously pleasing. Mmm…

paper lace heart wip paper lace heart wip closeup

Creating a lacy paper heart sculpture, inspired by a really lovely one seen at zencrafting. Of course, that one is all symmetrical and pretty, mine is a wonky works-in-progress.

meret side

Newly finished Meret beret: finally! a hat that fits my weird head. And so warm & pretty, too. Also finished a pair of fingerless mitts in the same yarn for Bebe – he loved the yarn and keeps trying to co-opt my hat for his own – but he was reluctant to model them for the camera. Maybe tomorrow?

love notes love sachets

More Valentines crafts-in-progress:
note cards,
lavender sachets,
garbled mess that should be a crocheted heart garland (not pictured).
More on these later!

Actions

Information

10 responses

1 02 2011
gardenmama

you are beautiful mama!
i love the things you are creating!

3 02 2011
perches

I was remembering the Valentines swap that you organized last year, how much fun it was to make a bunch of handmade cards – thus, the creative burst you see here. So thanks very much to you for the inspiration πŸ™‚

1 02 2011
alihilani

ooo! love the hat! tres bon! and oh so flattering. can i have it πŸ˜‰

3 02 2011
perches

Silly – Bebe already steals my hats. I can’t let you join him, or who would be on my team? And what would be on my head?? Cold heads are so very sad…

1 02 2011
Virginia

Ooh, the Meret is lovely! Also your little sweater. Love!

1 02 2011
Jodi

Truly lovely here. I,ll be back.

1 02 2011
Jodi

Or I’ll be back πŸ˜›

3 02 2011
perches

πŸ™‚ Thank you for visiting and leaving a note!

7 02 2011
itsabeautifullife

Oh you are so talented with sewing/knitting/crocheting!!! πŸ™‚

9 02 2011
Danielle

I love that red cardi! Nice work!




