be the change

18 01 2011

I have to pause tonight, and put on hold the usual crafty/foodie/family anecdotes that illuminate my life and my writing here, to mark the passing of a great human being. His work helped engage, improve, and transform the lives of hundreds of millions of Americans, including mine.

Sargent Shriver died today at the age of 95. He leaves behind a tremendous legacy of public good, including programs/organizations like the Peace Corps, Head Start, AmeriCorps VISTA, and the Special Olympics, just to name a few.

He was my favorite kind of idealist – the compassionate and practical, get-it-done kind – and one of my heroes.

“It is well to be prepared for life as it is, but it is better to be prepared to make life better than it is.”
– Robert Sargent Shriver, Jr., 1915-2011

Who are your heroes? And how do they guide your life?

Actions

Information




