happy, thanks, very full

27 11 2010

A lovely Thanksgiving day! If you’re a celebrant, hope you had a great one, too.

thanksgiving family

And finally the internet connection is repaired, huzzah! Although it is still running a bit funny, so we’re working with brief windows of time for updates. We are checking in from southeast Louisiana, called home again for the next several weeks.

pumpkin pie sweet potato cream pie

Lots of family fun to relate, including roasting the turkey on a gigantic barbecue grill, but first here’s the super-yummy dessert bakefest that I’ve unleashed in my mother’s kitchen over the past week (above: a pretty pumpkin pie & fluffy sweet potato cream pie for the Thanksgiving dessert table).

apple spice cake

Also for Thanksgiving, this really light spice cake with grated apples and a nice lemon-brown sugar glaze. All recipes from a new cookbook, Bon Appetit Desserts,that I picked up a couple weeks ago (partly from the gorgeous pumpkin pie picture right at the opening title page. Genius marketing ploy.)

For my wonderful sibs on a great baking day: you’re the best.

sibs

(sibs picture courtesy of our mom: thanks, Mom!)

Actions

Information

4 responses

28 11 2010
Virginia

Mmm… pictures of pumpkin pie. I’m hungry now.

I’m glad you had a great time! Looks like a lot of fun.

29 11 2010
Beth

Love the pictures! Looks like you guys had a nice family Thanksgiving.

30 11 2010
Nancy

Looks like fun was had by all! Your desserts all look so yummy.
I will be posting soon about the lovely things you sent me in the swap–I think about you all the time because I was so neglectful–but I will make it up as best I can!

1 12 2010
The Queen of the Snow Cows

The fam looks so great! I’m glad you had such a wonderful holiday!




