vintage love

29 07 2010

Oh my, I’ve had so much fun with the Summer Vintage Swap. Yet I totally forgot to take pictures of the things I assembled for my swap partner, Nancy of Summer Sky: Learning As I Go. Realized it just after sealing up the package. Derf. I blame it on a sleepy Mama moment. And the excitement of getting things mailed on time (!!), which is not one of my strong skills. If you are my family and reading this, you know exactly what I mean, it’s genetic.

Instead, you can feast your eyes these lovelies:

extraneous vintage finds - summer2010

What do you see? I see a pair of knitted socks (knitting needles), a new shirt (embroidered collar), a pretty addition to Bebe’s toy basket (red bordered handkerchief), and several baby shower/Christmas presents (embroidery hoops, other handkerchiefs, pink hangers). Love.

Also, here is a very-belated picture from things received in the Winter Vintage Swap.

vintage swap received - winter 2010

Pretty, ne? My winter vintage swap partner writes from a journey to a simple happy life.  In March we were both all kinds of busy, and I left for Arizona the day after her package arrived, so I missed the opportunity to write about the wonderful gifts she found. The picture vanished into my springtime of Travel, Great Blogging Silence, & Computer Exile. Thank you again, Imene 🙂

Can you tell how much I love pretty handkerchiefs? They’ve been a happy theme in all of my vintage swaps so far. I have no idea what happened to all of the ones I brought back from Japan, where people actually use them all the time (for wiping hands or face). Probably in storage, like half our lives.

Otherwise we’d be writing Perches in the Handkerchiefs.

Actions

Information

2 responses

29 07 2010
Virginia

Those handkerchiefs are awesome. Wow, it took me a minute to figure out how to spell handkerchief.

Anyway, great swaps! Those both look lovely.

30 07 2010
Lori

those are all such beautiful things! i especially love vintage handmade objects, they make me imagine someone looking at my own handwork in the distant future, trying to imagine the person who made them. that’s a great idea too, a vintage swap!

perches in the handkerchiefs, that was hilarious. 🙂




