6 billion days

22 07 2010

Have you heard about the Life in a Day project already? I must be in a black hole, for I just discovered it this afternoon – by accident.

The idea is that thousands of ordinary people – maybe billions -will pick up a camera this Saturday, July 24th and film a bit of their life. And then upload that raw footage for the world to see. YouTube is working with director Kevin MacDonald & producer Ridley Scott to create a documentary about 1 day in history and the 6 billion perspectives of humanity as we live it.

What a fascinating public idea.

But tricky: consider how quickly electronic formats become obselete. Remembering how many kinds of electronic formats have become generally inaccessible in my own lifetime, I wonder if this project could actually be a viable resource for future generations (as the project proposes).

And limiting: this project would primarily represent those with the socioeconomic ability to access a camera, computer & internet, and have free time to film. Much like blogging, actually.

You can learn a lot about a group based on who is heard/unheard and why. Will the next generation care about our voiceless and their missing stories? Or will they just be agog at our funny fashions, fads and quaint habits?

Actions

Information

3 responses

22 07 2010
Lori

I’ve been under the same rock, or in the same black hole – I haven’t heard of it either! I’m so glad I saw this post. I have a little video camera, I think I’ll participate.

COOL. It reminds me of some of my favorite movies, Baraka and Powaqqatsi and Koyaanisqatsi.

22 07 2010
Virginia

Yeah, it’s really cool. 🙂 The New York Times did something similar this year, where on a particular day (I forget which) and a particular time (8am) they had hundreds of thousands of people pick up cameras and then send in their photos. It was amazing. And I lost quite a few hours flipping through photos.

Here’s the link: http://www.nytimes.com/interactive/2010/05/03/blogs/a-moment-in-time.html/

24 07 2010
perches

Thanks for the NYT link, Virginia! That’s so cool.




