cherry clafoutis – clafoutis aux cerises

17 07 2010

Oh yum: cherry clafoutis is a kind of French cherry cake, made with a very eggy custard batter. In cherry season, it’s a lovely, fragrant alternative to cherry pie.

cherry almond clafoutis

We looove kitchen gadgets, so of course we are well-equipped with a handy cherry/olive pitter. And pitting a lot of cherries doesn’t have to be a tedious chore: do it while watching a movie and time flies. Today while Bebe and Mr. P were taking afternoon naps, I sat myself down on the sofa with the pitter and:
1: towel to catch drips
2: a mug for the pits
3: a large measuring bowl for the cherries (I stopped at 2 cups), and
4: a musical in the DVD player (Nine, with Daniel Day-Lewis, Judy Dench, et al.)

Easy peasy! And the boys were delighted to wake up and find extra cherries to snack on.

I combined and adapted a couple different clafoutis recipes because I didn’t have the exact ingredients required for each one – like a lemon or kirsch or enough brown sugar. I also made a little clafoutis for Bebe, then added rum to the rest of the batter and put that in a seperate baking dish. We’re looking forward to an awesome morning tomorrow: cake for breakfast!

cherry almond clafoutis - mini

Cherry Almond Rum Clafoutis (serves 8 to 10)
adapted from recipes in A Platter of Figs by David Tannis and The Quick Recipe by Editors of Cook’s Illustrated Magazine

Ingredients
2 C pitted cherries
1/4 C sliced almonds
butter & flour for dusting the baking dish

6 eggs
1/2 C flour
1.5 C sugar
1 C milk
2/3 C heavy cream
1/2 tsp almond extract
1 Tbsp light rum (optional)
powdered sugar for post-bake dusting

Directions
Preheat oven 350 degrees F. Butter and flour a 9.5 or 10-in pie dish (or ceramic baking dish or cast-iron frying pan). Arrange cherries in a single layer on bottom of the dish. Sprinkle the almonds over the cherries. Set aside.

The most time-consuming way to do the batter is to whisk by hand and have awesome arm muscles. If you have a hand mixer or stand mixer, use the whisk attachment. You can also use a large blender.

Combine the flour, sugar, and eggs. Whisk until smooth. Gradually blend in the milk, cream, almond extract, and rum. The batter will be very liquid and frothy, not like your usual cake batter. Pour the batter into the baking dish over the fruit. (I was worried that the batter looked too close to the top edge, but the batter actually puffs up like souflé during baking, so there wasn’t any overflow.).

Bake 35-40 minutes, until top is puffy and browned, and a stick test comes clean. Let cool on a rack for at least 10 minutes or until room temperature. Dust with powdered sugar before serving. Enjoy!

Actions

Information

5 responses

17 07 2010
itsabeautifullife

Wow, this looks wonderful! And I absolutly LOVE your year of 100 things! I hope you plan to do it for 2011 as well because I will be signing up for sure! 🙂 Better get stared on my list now. 😉

20 07 2010
perches

Thanks, I’ll do the Year of Lovely Things for 2011, it’s fun! Hope you can make it. Don’t know if I’ll do 100 Desserts again – I’m really enjoying it but am awfully far behind on my numbers. Hmm… a delicious problem… must go bake something 🙂

18 07 2010
Imene

Looks yummy!! I would love to wake up from my nap to this!!

20 07 2010
perches

Hi Imene 🙂 It makes a great after-nap snack, I can definitely attest to that.

21 07 2010
thelinencat

Oh I LOVE cherry clafourtis and had kind of forgotten about it (haven’t made it for a long time) so may have to make some for my boys, who will love it.

I love your blog, I am keen to try coconut bread as well – looks yummy!




