revery

29 06 2010

To make a prairie it takes a clover and one bee,
one clover, and a bee,
and revery.
The revery alone will do,
if bees are few.

-Emily Dickinson (1830-86)

the revery of play

I am pretty gobsmacked by how awesome and pristine our carpets look right now. There were other things planned for this post and Miss D’s delightful verse, something thoughtful and summery with nice bits of fiber crafting and toddler antics.

But the carpet cleaning guy just left and I am reveling in vanished stains. Spots where Bebe had thrown down bits of food to announce his displeasure with some taste or texture or amount of meal. Splashes where a dark beverage careened off the table. The inevitable smudges near the front door after a snowy, wet winter.

Just gone, really fast, with a little noise and a cheerful wave.

Has the day brought you revery, too, even if it isn’t what you planned for or expected?

Actions

Information

6 responses

29 06 2010
Jacilyn

Thank you for stopping by my blog and leaving a nice comment!

I love Emily Dickinson and that is a lovely little summery poem for sure.

29 06 2010
perches

Isn’t it pretty? Makes me think of long stretches of tall grass, wildflowers, and no sound except the wind and the bees. Thanks for stopping by 🙂

29 06 2010
Ginny

I cleaned my kitchen tile floor grout on my hands and knees with a scrub brush around midnight last night (yes I am crazy.) I so understand the happiness that comes with clean floors!

29 06 2010
Virginia

Successful day today. And the revery comes from your Emily Dickinson. My husband used to teach lit at a university…

Did you know that quite a few E.D. poems can be sung to the Gilligan’s Island theme song? That puts a smile on my face every time.

29 06 2010
m.e (cathie)

your little one looks like he is having the best fun with his new toys!..and you of course photgraphing him.
hope the carpet stays clean for a while. my little one could not possibly keep anything clean for more that 10 minutes 🙂

30 06 2010
Jill

Thanks for stopping by. It is nice to meet new people and going to their blogs is like visiting their homes. Pretty cool, I think. What makes LA bbq different? I love bbq! In regards to the poem, at one point, a zillion years ago, I was rehearsing a one-woman play about Emily, that’s how I fell in love with her. The show never got to stage, however. I didn’t know that you could sing her poetry to Gilligan’s Island, that’s funny! I’m glad to see you have recipes, I’ll be back!




