very good & lucky things

8 06 2010

I am rebalancing – reclaiming my vintage sewing table from both the shadow of the Great Yarn Tower and the overflowing mess that is my Big Bowl of Knitting Projects. Knitting happily consumed my creative life for the past year, and there are 2 lovely projects for this summer: the summer shawl and an autumn vest for Bebe to wear during football season.

lsu vest-wip

With the recent flurries of stitchery here, I’m looking for ways to keep the momentum going. And there is amazing inspiration at every turn! Last week our library was hosting a workshop for making cute amigurumi creatures. This weekend I saw two guys working on drop spindles with some lovely burgundy fiber (not sewing related, but fun to see). Visiting local parks nearly each sunny day, Bebe and I see lots of pretty quilts that families bring to sit and picnic upon – we usually bring a couple of his small, pretty baby blankets.

I’ve started a big rainbow quilt for our summer spread, working with a Fat Quarter roll that I received for Christmas. Bebe has loved playing with the fabric as a roll, so it’s been part of his toychest for months, but now it has found a new beginning.

rainbow quilt - wip

More on that as the quilt slowly develops.

I finally picked up Heather Ross’s great book, Weekend Sewing. There are a couple easy clothing projects in there I’ve been admiring for ages. Perfect resource for two big summer sew-alongs:

1. June’s challenge from Sew Mama Sew! : Make It, Wear It

2. a slow summer stitching craft-along hosted by Rebeka of artsy-craftsy babe. June 1-August 31, it’s a season of working on a hand-sewn project (i.e. “slow”) – clothing, home wares, accessories, anything.

And if that weren’t enough (whew!) there is online inspiration everywhere. The list on my inspiration queu (see right, bottom sidebar) is flooded with ideas. Love that. A lot of inspiration is a very good & lucky thing.

What is inspiring you?

Actions

Information

3 responses

8 06 2010
lori

hey! if those are your hands holding the knitting needles, i don’t know what you’re talking about….you have really beautiful hands! people can be so wrong about themselves – i certainly can. and i adore the colors and prints in the fabrics, they just make me so happy. can’t wait to see the quilt!

8 06 2010
Virginia

Ooh, I love weekend sewing! It’s a truly great book. I’ve made a couple of projects from it.

8 06 2010
Lasso the Moon

So much fun! Thanks for the tip on the craft-along. I just joined!
Anna




