bloom :: following light

3 03 2010

I love this time of year in the garden, as the bulbs are beginning to push through the snow or mud and things are sprouting, tree tips are starting to swell. Every day there’s some small new change, easy delight.

We don’t have a garden this year, so I am celebrating the arrival of flowers with a sweet twist: flower cookies. Orange Blossoms, Lavender Cookies, and Daisies are on the baker’s agenda today and tomorrow. I’m pretty excited. Pictures of leftover crumbs to follow.

Recipes from The King Arthur Flour Cookie Companion – we are still in mad love with this cookbook. I strongly suspect it will be my birthday present next month. Meanwhile, thank you public library!

Actions

Information

3 responses

3 03 2010
nova

I love (LOVE!) lavender, but lavender cookies are not something that would have occurred to me, I am very intrigued about these cookies now.

3 03 2010
perches

Thanks! I’m making them on Thursday, will let you know how they turn out. I’ve had lavender ice cream before and LOVED it (yummm….), so the cookies will probably be awesome. A perfect preview of summer in the midst of March snow & drizzle.

4 03 2010
Kate

Things are pushing up from the soil where you are and where we are they are falling off the trees and landing on the ground. Autumn makes me feel sad whereas spring fills me with optimism. Enjoy it for me. X




