sweet :: following light

2 03 2010

Aia ka lâ ma ka hikina :: The sun is rising in the east
`Ula wena i ka `ili o ke kai :: It casts a red glow over the sea
Ke hea mai nei i ku`u kama lei :: It is calling to my beloved child
E ala, e ala ua ao :: Awake, awake it is day
– from “Mele Ho`ala,” by Mary Pûku`i

Bebe had a long look at this morning’s grey skies, rolled over, and went back to sleep. And slept. And slept some more. Not a typical Bebe morning – he usually greets the sun with a happy chirp (or loud squawks, and sometimes a very barbaric yawp) and we start the day early. But he must have needed extra rest today – woke up chirping and we’ve been running happy since then.

In the wheel of the year, we’re nearly midpoint between the winter solstice and spring equinox (or for the southern hemisphere, it’s between summer solstice and autumn equinox) – called Imbolc in the Gaelic tradition and a celebration of light. If you are the kind of person who likes to soak up light and sprawl happily in the sun, as I do, then this is a nicely symbolic check-point in the grand slide towards spring.

walnut candle

(wee walnut candle received in the 2009 handmade stocking stuffer exchange, hosted by between hitching posts)

I made a batch of Snickerdoodles last night for Mr. P, who had been feeling cookie-less this weekend. 

snickerdoodles

Snickerdoodles, where have you been all my life? You are a delightful balance of crunchy-sweet-spiciness. I adore you with glass of frosty cold milk.

Rumors of more snow tonight and tomorrow, makes me cherish yesterday’s bright blue skies even more.

Actions

Information

4 responses

2 03 2010
Virginia

I do everso love snickerdoodles. They are my favorite non-chocolate chip cookie.

2 03 2010
Jo

My little monkey sleeps more every change of season, we are now in Autumn and the mornings are cooler, as are the evenings. My favourites seasons are Autumn and Spring. There is just something about the light and the air that is so promising.

Those cookies look extremely yummy and that wee walnut candle is very sweet.

3 03 2010
Kate

I have never heard of snickerdoodles before but my goodness how I love that name. I am sooo definitely going to make some just so I can watch their faces when i tell my kids what they are.

3 03 2010
perches

Snickerdoodles have aunny name and are ridiculously tasty. Let me know if you want the recipe that I used, I can type it up & email it to you!




