orange morning scones

22 02 2010

There’s something about winter that makes me love using oranges and clementines and satsumas in our daily menu. Some days it’s just as basic as a piece of fruit with lunch or for snack. Last night we had a salad of sliced orange wedges tossed with tomatoes, spinach, hunks of mozarella cheese, the last bit of prosciutto, and a light vinigrette of olive oil, red wine vinegar, sea salt, ground black pepper, and dried basil. Oh, yumm… Mr. P said it tasted like spring.

This morning I woke up thinking of scones. Oranges and scones.

orange scones

I looked at a few recipes, fiddled and experimented. Came out with something tasty: soft, just a little sweet, with a light hint of oranges. Exactly what I wanted – and Bebe, I think, has fallen madly in love with these scones. He devoured a small one and then practically danced around me for pieces of mine. Could not keep his hands off long enough for me to take this picture.

orange scones - yumm

Bebe says, “yummmm…”

Orange Morning Scones

Ingredients
2 C all-purpose flour
1 Tbsp baking powder
3 Tbsp sugar
1/2 tsp salt
5 Tbsp butter, in 1/4-in cubes
1 tsp orange zest
juice from 1 orange
1/2 C buttermilk*

Directions
1. Preheat oven to 425 F. Lightly grease baking sheet or cover it with parchment paper.

2. Grate orange zest, then slice and juice orange.

3. In a large bowl, whisk together the dry ingredients. Cut in butter cubes until the mixture is course and a bit lumpy. Mix in orange zest, then orange juice (and some pulp, if you like). Slowly add the buttermilk and mix until a rough dough forms (this will NOT be smooth like cake batter or bread dough – if it looks too wet, add another tablespoon of flour).

4. On a floured surface, knead dough by hand a few times and then shape into a ball. Put the dough ball in center of baking sheet, then pat into a circle about 1/2-inch thick. Use a sharp wet knife or pastry scraper to press 8 wedges into the dough. Do not cut all the way through. Sprinkle lightly with sugar (I like coarse turbinado sugar for this).

orange scones - shaping wedges

5. Bake 15-20 minutes or until lightly browned. Cool on wire rack 15 minutes. Enjoy!

Note
Heavy cream or plain yogurt can be used in place of buttermilk. Recipe adapted from The America’s Test Kitchen Cookbook.

Actions

Information

12 responses

22 02 2010
Heather

You have some of the best recipes. Thank you so much for sharing

22 02 2010
Lori

OH MAMA. I’ll be making those next weekend. They have everything I want in a breakfast (or a snack). I’ve never seen orange scones before!

22 02 2010
mandy

yum! i love scones and these look great. i got your sweet valentine in the mail today; it’s simply lovely.

22 02 2010
Wendy

Well, if it’s from America’s Test Kitchen, you know it’s gonna be good.

I won’t make these, because I’d eat the entire thing.

22 02 2010
Virginia

Those look goooooooooood. Yum.

22 02 2010
Valarie Budayr

These look fantastic. I’m going to make them for the coffee group tomorrow morning. I’ll let you know how they love them. Thanks for the recipe.

23 02 2010
Kate

Great photos! Thanks for this, I am so making orange morning scones for morning tea tomorrow.

23 02 2010
Sam

I LOVE America’s Test Kitchen! Can I request that a batch of these be made for Sheep and Shenanigans? 🙂

24 02 2010
the mistress

pretty please!

24 02 2010
perches

of course!

24 02 2010
Michelle Payette

Those look delicious. I think I’ll make some on the weekend.

24 02 2010
gardenmama

These look fabulous! I love that you are using oranges in this way yum! : )




