giveaway + ravelympics

12 02 2010

Snow or no snow, the Winter Olympic Games start tonight in Vancouver. And for knitters/crocheters around the world, the Opening Ceremony also marks the start of the 2010 Ravelympics and 16.25 days of rampant needlework.

ravelympics2010-jonquilmom
[Ravelympics logo by zzwhitejd/Jenny Raymond, used with permission]

My project goals for the Ravelympics are:

Garter mitts (for Mr. P’s mom, coming this weekend)

Haruni shawl (for my grandma, coming next week)

2 pairs of Saartje baby shoes (for Baby BV & Baby MH, coming soon)

Yoke Vest (for Bebe)

Since I didn’t hear about the Ravelympics teams until recently, and then couldn’t find a good fit, I have my very own, unofficial team – and Bebe is the mascot: we are Team Awesome.

Would you like to join unofficial Team Awesome? Leave a message here and let me know. There may be knitterly prizes, or you may just be awesome & crafty.

And speaking of awesome & crafty, here’s a giveaway to celebrate the actual, incredible Olympics (we heart the winter Olympics):

ravelympics-giveaway

a set of 5 stitch markers (made by me) for you or the knitter/crocheter you love.
These are glass beads, and the rings will fit needles up to size 11/8mm. If you’re interested, please leave a comment on this post between now the Closing Ceremony of the Olympic Games (5:30p.m. Pacific time zone – US/Canada) on Sunday, February 28th. I’m fine with shipping internationally, too. The recipient will be chosen randomly and announced here the next day.

We have family coming to stay with us this weekend and more family visiting next week. Looking forward to busy days full of: love, stories, exploring, feasting, lots of Bebe joy, and lots of knitting. And maybe a little less snow, please. Mata ne (see you later).

*** *** *** *** *** *** *** *** *** *** *** *** *** *** *** *** *** *** ***

Update: Comments closed. Thank you for participating in the giveaway! Winner chosen by a random number generator. Congratulations to…

I’m a knitter–these would be wonderful to win. Thank you for the generous giveaway and the chance to win!
Posted by Beth

*** *** *** *** *** *** *** *** *** *** *** *** *** *** *** *** *** *** ***

Actions

Information

11 responses

12 02 2010
lorena

those are so pretty! love that color! they may be just what i need to get motivated to knit again!

12 02 2010
nicola

wonderful. thank you and have a happy weekend!
nicola
http://whichname.blogspot.com

12 02 2010
Lindsay Cogan

This is great.

12 02 2010
Virginia

I will officially join Team Awesome.

🙂 I’m casting on for Coraline tonight.

13 02 2010
Linda Kristin

So pretty! A LOT nicer than my plastic store bought stitch markers I have..

13 02 2010
Arctic Mum

Yes, I would very much like to win these, even though I just started to crochet.

13 02 2010
kimsarahtillyer

Hi! Thanks for your kind comments on Witchmountain.Love peanut butter cookies and fond memories of King Arthur flour when we lived in R.I.
CUTE baby too!
I never heard of Ben Folds Five so I’m off to look it up now! Thanks again . Kim x
( ps, i didn’t do the tatting unfortunately but plan to learn someday soon)

13 02 2010
Marci

Beautiful giveaway. Please enter me 🙂

13 02 2010
Beth

I’m a knitter–these would be wonderful to win. Thank you for the generous giveaway and the chance to win!

13 02 2010
Jenn

I love the stars! Please enter me in the giveaway.

14 02 2010
Sam

Don’t enter me in the contest – I already have a beautiful pair of Perches stitchmarkers and would not want to deny someone else of the chance to own their own. But I did want to say how ambitious your list of activities for the Ravelympics is! Good luck with it! If this wasn’t a year of planning and contemplation instead of action! action! action!, I’d be sure to join Team Awesome. Maybe next year. 🙂




