saartje’s booties

3 02 2010

I am in love with this pattern again. Adorable.

saartje 2

As I’ve grumbled before, they are very fiddly to assemble – because of the way the straps are put together, you end up with lots of loose ends to weave in. But I found a way to fix a lot of that!

Note: Must use DPNs for this part
*corrected 2/7/10 – row 25 instructions

Row 24: same as pattern
Row 25: Transfer first 10 stitches to other needle, so that the back seam lines up as you knit. The loose yarn will be in the middle of these stitches. k 10, CO 10 using Loop cast on.

Row 26: k 30, CO 10 using Loop cast on

Row 27: k 40

Row 28: bo 10, k 30

Row 29: bo 30

This leaves only 2 ends to weave in – and the 1st tail is long enough to seam up the sole and back heel.

For me, because I’m a really slow knitter, each booty took about 2 hours, including seaming, weaving ends, attaching buttons, etc.

button loop

Button loops tutorial found here, video instructions found here.

Details
Craft: knitting
Pattern: Saartje’s Bootees by Saartje de Bruijn (free pattern)
Yarn: Lorna’s Laces Shepherd Sock Multi (Edgewater 208)
For more details, see Ravelry.

Actions

Information

7 responses

4 02 2010
Linda Kristin

Very, very cute! Also, I LOVE the cabled vest you made for Bebe.

4 02 2010
perches

Thank you! I loved seeing all of your holiday knitting, too. Can’t wait to see what you’re working on next :).

4 02 2010
Virginia

Ooh, awesome mod to that pattern! I love the little booties. I also really like typing the word booties.

BOOTIES

sorry. a little slap happy today. 🙂

4 02 2010
quirkygranolagirl

cute cute! great yarn choice, too!

4 02 2010
the mistress

love them. I will have to check out that pattern the next time I knit baby booties.

5 02 2010
Camille Davis

So sweet! I am glad I found your blog.
Thanks for visiting my blog.
Your friend, Camille of camillecreates.blogspot.com

6 02 2010
Imene

Such cute little booties! I love your blog, I am glad we are paired for the vintage swap




