kitchen frenzy

27 01 2010

Joy! We have a new baby in the family. He’s a big, healthy boy (9lbs, 4oz), and we can safely assume he’s sweet & beautiful, based on his lovely and wonderful parents. And while these bundles of yarn may not look like adorable knit baby goodies,

saartje wip

they will be by the end of this week: Saartje’s Booties.

We have been bursting busy in the kitchen this week: corn & crab bisque, chocolate chip cookies, mesquite roasted pork, Bebe’s FIRST EVER fruit smoothies (frozen fruit blended with yogurt),

first smoothie

broccoli cheese soup, BREAD, and today – oh yum, red bean & sausage soup.

red bean soup wip

I meant to make red beans & rice on Monday (Mr. P usually makes it, this was my first time), which is a traditional Monday dish in Louisiana, but I kept forgetting to soak the beans overnight until last night. Erf… But it’s very yummy today.

And I am loving these cookbooks this week:

love these cookbooks

Encyclopedia of Cajun & Creole Cooking by John Folse, and Artisan Bread in 5 Minutes a Day by Jeff Hertzberg & Zoe Francois.

I love the Encyclopedia for so many reasons: it includes Louisiana history and culture as well as recipes, has amazing photographs, structures the recipes so you can learn techniques as you go, it’s wider than my bookshelf and heavier than my Bebe, and it ALWAYS ends up with tasty meals on our table. We’re feeling a bit homesick around here, so there’s been a lot of Louisiana on our menu this week. Friday I’m making the recipe for Shrimp Creole. And maybe a King Cake this weekend. Oh, delicious…

As for the Artisan Bread book, well it sounds like a gimmick, but I am loving it to pieces. It’s been my first foray into bread making and I love how with each kind of dough, they also include a variety of baked goods that dough can be used for. Example – tonight I made a big 4-pound batch of thyme & rosemary boule dough. Over the next week, that will turn into: 1 boule bread loaf, 2 small baguettes, 1 large spinach & cheese calzone, and 6 servings of onion & rosemary focaccia.

Just thinking about all of that homebaked goodness makes me excited & hungry. The authors just came out with a gluten-free recipe book, too, though I haven’t tried it yet. I want to work my way through this one first. Next week we’ll be doing the brioche dough, which means lots of lovely pastries.

Mr. P says I’m turning him into a fat old man, and that we have to use the gym more often if I’m going to keep cooking like this.

Actions

Information

6 responses

27 01 2010
The Queen of the Snow Cows

The artisan bread book is the one I’ve been using to make all that bread! LOL! Great minds think alike. 😉

27 01 2010
swallowing roses

Big D. got one too for christmas! Encyclopedia of Cajun & Creole Cooking that is. As you know I’m daunted by recipes in general, so I have yet to do much with it but feel awe and hunger pains, heehee. Someday!

28 01 2010
Virginia

The cajun and creole one looks awesome! Although I have a bunch of friends from cajun country and they’re constantly sending me recipes. They might be insulted if I bought a cookbook. 🙂

28 01 2010
Heather

I love cajun and creole cooking, and that looks like a great book. The artisan bread books have been such a treat, and having fresh bread in the house constantly makes the days so much better.

28 01 2010
Sam

I love the Mr. P said that “we” would need to use the gym more, not “I”.

28 01 2010
Nancy

Don’t you just love having a good excuse to make some baby things?

I have Healthy Bread too, but have yet to start baking! Sounds like you’re having lots of fun in the kitchen.




