holiday knitting: neckwarmers

29 12 2009

The average person no longer knows what a cowl is, so while giving them an archaic word (which I happen to think is lovely & redolent of shadows, high stone arches, and incense) I also tell them it’s a neckwarmer. People understand neckwarmer, especially in winter or anywhere cold & drafty.

I’ve had the yarn for my sister’s gift for months, and just couldn’t find the right pattern to match its rosy, silky loveliness (mmm… Malabrigo). I was in deeply covetous smit as soon as I saw the Beech Wood cowl pattern on Ravelry. I saw it, drooled a bit, waved a skein of my sister’s yarn at it, and then picked up Bebe & ran out to buy the pattern.

rupestre beech wood cowl

A sweet, quick knit for one skein (and I still have two more for birthday presents…). Sent along with a carved wooden shawl pin that I picked up at the Montpelier Fall Fiber Festival in October.

Details
Craft: knitting
Pattern: Beech Wood by Ilga Leja (available in Knitting Pattern-a-Day: 2010 Day-to-Day Calendar)
Yarn: Malabrigo Silky Merino (Rupestre)
For more details, see Ravelry.

The next cowl was for my sister’s husband (I like themes in gift-giving: the nieces & nephew received woodsy-magic costume pieces). Scarves are too long, hats are too risky, this is just right for man who is still fishing in the middle of winter.

Swampfield Cowl detail

Details
Craft: knitting
Pattern: Swampfield Cowl by Sara Amoroso (free pattern)
Yarn: Brown Sheep Co. Lanaloft (LL-51 Thunder Bay)
For more details, see Ravelry.

Actions

Information

2 responses

29 12 2009
adkmama

Wow, these are so beautiful… thank you for posting these, I was looking for anew knitting project!

30 12 2009
perches

They are really fun & easy knits, I loved seeing the textures emerge. Thanks for letting me know you like them!




