add joy, stir occasionally

23 12 2009

Because a little more joy is never a bad thing, here are a few projects and delights.

mask & wand

DONE:
A woodland mystery mask & wizard’s wand for my most-adorable nephew. More details after the holidays.

I’ll put together a tutorial for the mask & will also be selling a few when my Etsy shop opens in January. So if you know a small person who would like this, be sure to visit later.

TO DO:
Wendy & family’s rockin’ awesome sugar xmas trees at Wisdom of the Moon. But first I need to find a candy thermometer….

My dough is already rising on this one, so it’s really half-DONE: a family recipe for christmas braid bread from angry chicken.

Yummy flourless peanut butter cookies from everybody likes sandwiches. I almost started these last night, but we were all too tired.

And I think this will be a lovely treat for a small lass we’re seeing tomorrow: a supersweet printable paper house from twelve22. Along with the animal sewing cards for wee crafters (by chez beeper bebe) that I prepared earlier in the week. Simple but very neat gifts.

Need more random joy? Peek at a really beautiful winter village assembled by posie gets cozy. The illumination underneath the village is so lovely.

Wishing you much joy!

[update]:
The braid bread is delicious and has been a nice breakfast nibble for Christmas Eve & Christmas Day.

holiday braid bread

Small recipe mod: instead of ground cardamon, I used 1 tsp ground cinnamon, 1/4 tsp ground nutmeg, and 1/4 tsp ground cloves. Also, I goofed a bit on the first rise because of the salt, therefore it is probably a bit less fluffy than expected, but otherwise it is very, very tasty. Thank for the recipe, Amy!

Actions

Information

2 responses

25 12 2009
the mistress

Love you and your family! Have a great holiday.

27 12 2009
quirkygranolagirl

Thank you for the many wonderful links in this post. I’m excited about the sugar trees, the paper house, and making my own Christmas village houses.

Wishing you and your family a happy and crafty holiday 🙂




