remember the zeroes

15 11 2009

As year-end and a new decade are approaching, news features are starting to “look back at this year/decade.” So I have been – looking back – and I was a bit disappointed in my memory on quite a few details. My journals are still packed away in storage, but I cobbled together a few highlights.

Big joy:
teaching overseas
marrying Mr. Perches (and celebrating 11 amazing years together)
completing an AmeriCorps VISTA service year
graduate school
beautiful babies born to family & friends

cousins

cousin

our own Bebe

bebe - summer 2009

Challenged by (good and difficult):
our very long distance relationship
graduate school
recovering from Hurricanes Katrina & Rita (2005), then Gustav & Ike (2008)
good work
new parenthood

Music love:
my brother’s music
Bob Dylan
The Cat Empire
The Dirty Dozen Brass Band
Love Psychedelico
Iron & Wine
Liz Carol
Miles Davis
Myshkin
The Ting Tings
Van Morrison
Kokia

Bookshelf love: (links go to amazon.com)
…new parenthood
The Wonder Weeks – Frans Plooij & Hetty Vanderijt
…craft
The Creative Family – Amanda Blake Soule
Maran Illustrated Knitting and Crocheting – maranGraphics Development Group
The Myth & Magic of Embroidery – Helen M. Stevens
…non-fiction
104 Activities that Build – Alanna Jones
A Moveable Feast – Ernest Hemingway
Communicating Across Cultures – Stella Ting-Toomey
The Functions of Social Conflict – Lewis Coser
Hokkaido Highway Blues – Will Ferguson
Interpersonal Conflict – William W. Wilmot & Joyce L. Hocker
The Names of Things – Susan Brind Morrow
Managing Public Disputes – Susan L. Carpenter
…fiction
The Elephant Vanishes – Haruki Murakami
Harry Potter series – JK Rowling
The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy series – Douglas Adams
The Moviegoer – Walker Percy
Never Let Me Go – Kazuo Ishiguro
The Silmarillion – JRR Tolkein
The Time Traveler’s Wife – Audrey Niffenegger

Movie love:
After Life
Amelie
A Very Long Engagement
Center Stage
Blue Planet series
Deep Impact
Kung Fu Hustle
Lord of the Rings series
Love Actually
MirrorMask
My Left Eye Sees Ghosts
Office Space
Sen to Chihiro (Spirited Away)
Sliding Doors
Spring Summer, Fall, Winter…and Spring
Underworld

Creative outlets:
poetry
photography
guitar & songwriting

b-life cafe

learning to embroider, sew, and knit
teaching/training
work
cooking

Where I lived, worked, or traveled to:
Baton Rouge/New Orleans, Louisiana (2000-01, 2005-09)
Kyoto, Japan (2001-03)
solo roadtrip through Hokkaido, Japan
Washington, DC metro area (2003-05)
family reunion in Ka’u, Hawai’i
friends’ wedding near Toronto, Canada
4-week honeymoon adventure through China

great wall

How I journeyed: (links go to youtube.com)
1989 Dodge Ram Charger (aka “The Beast” – the family training car for me & my siblings)
2000 Saturn (my first car – no name)
walking & public transportation

kyoto station, japan

a really old Honda hatchback
2007 Honda Fit / Jazz (again – no name) but I do love telling people that I could fit an alpaca or a surfboard inside. Haven’t actually attempted either, but I love that I could if I needed to. At one single time, I have actually filled it with: 
two people
one wheelbarrow
several trees/saplings and shrubs
a million several dozen bags of soil & mulch
eight or ten shovels
and various gardening tools.
…It’s only a small car on the outside.

And your decade? If you have a blog, link to your post in the comments. Or you can just leave a really long comment.

Actions

Information

4 responses

16 11 2009
the mistress

I saw a “beast” the other day and smiled when I thought of you driving it. Thanks for sharing your memories.

16 11 2009
Virginia

Has been a very crazy decade. Also did the grad school thing, the marriage thing and the baby thing. Wow.

Been through a couple of jobs, learned to knit, spent more time with various people who were in the hospital than I care to think about, and lost a parent.

Wrote a book or two (unpublished, alas), painted 1,000 faces…

It’s been a good ten years.

Lovely post!

19 11 2009
perches

I hope the next decade gives you the opportunity to publish your books. That’s on my To Do list, too, along with… erm.. actually writing the books 😉

22 12 2009
Wendy

Hmm, I see several of my favorite things on your list, so I will have to check out the ones that I’ve never heard of.

Glad to have found you (thanks to Sitemeter for letting me know that you linked to me)!

As for my recollection of the last decade, wow, I’ll have to think on that.




