knitty soup

4 11 2009

I have been thinking about attending a Knit Night (you know, with “real knitters”) for the past four months. LYS send me their flyers or email, and our local library system has them once a month at most branches. But it hasn’t worked out for my schedule and honestly, non-attendance has been helped along by some low-level anxiety. I started knitting this year, and I’ve had a couple encounters with snooty knitters that have not been encouraging. Just enough to make me feel like I was a really awkward kid in middle school again, way too tall with big glasses and giant poofy hair. (Oh, I do not miss that hair).

But I love knitting, and I needed a little nudge to help refocus my energy on the projects in my big knit bowl. So I attended a Knit Night, my first ever, last night. And Yay!! so much knitty fun. I may actually finish my Aston Hat this week, maybe. Possibly. I’ll update with pics later today – and some delicious autumn soup.

Need some nerdylicious humor? This piece from the xkcd webcomic made me snarf hot chocolate.

*** *** *** *** *** *** *** *** *** *** *** *** *** *** *** *** *** *** ***

Update: here’s soup recipe!

Creamy Butternut Squash & Apple Soup (serves 6-8)
1 butternut squash
2 apples
1 onion
2 Tbsp butter
1 C water
1/2 pint (236mL) heavy whipping cream
1 Tbsp ground ginger
1/2 Tbsp cloves
1 tsp ground nutmeg

Instructions
1. Melt butter in a soup pot on medium heat. Slice stem and bottom off the butternut squash. Then cut in half lengthwise. Remove seeds, peel skin, and discard. Dice squash and add to pot. Cover and cook for 10-15min (prep other ingredients in the meantime).

2. Peel, core, & dice apples. Dice onion. Add apples & onion to pot. Stir, then add spices and stir again. Cover and cook for 10-15 minutes, gradually stirring in the water.

3. When squash is tender (test with fork), removed from heat and blend until smooth. Stir in the cream. Serve & enjoy! It’s good with croutons, and especially good with thick slices of toasted bread (plain, garlic, or herbal).

butternut squash & apple soup

Notes
I had a medium sized squash and 2 small apples (Winesap). Any good cooking apple is OK. You can substitute the whipping cream with light sour cream or plain yogurt. The whipping cream makes it a little bit sweet, which I think is a nice balance to the spices. It’s a hearty, thick soup – and with some crusty bread for dipping, it makes a filling meal.

potato chive bread, yummm

Actions

Information

5 responses

4 11 2009
quirkygranolagirl

Thanks for the link to the Aston hat. I absolutely love it.

4 11 2009
the mistress

Yay for you! I’m so glad you enjoyed knit night.
BTW, your title is quite vivid. It made me feel like I had cotton mouth. LOL!

4 11 2009
Jo

Good on you for going. Tonight’s my knitting night. I have one here and it is so much fun. We are all beginners, but have mum’s and of course You Tube, so we share new techniques. So much fun 🙂

Can’t wait to see your finished projects.

4 11 2009
Heather

How great that you went! That hat looks wonderful, thank you for the link

5 11 2009
perches

Oh ladies, thank you for your wonderful comments. They inspired me to stay focused and finish my hat. You’re the best!




