pre-birthday dinner

30 10 2009

Some people are really into birthdays, other people not so much. I have a friend who celebrates her Birthday Season, which leads into her Birthday Month (which this year begins on Sunday), and flows into her multi-day birthday celebration. It’s quite epic.

I think we forgot my birthday this year – it was in the middle of school spring break and I was focused on overseeing a week-long camp for about 200 K-8 graders and having an emotional meltdown because my work schedule required that I supplement Bebe’s feeding schedule with at least one bottle of formula each day instead of only breastmilk. And I was trying to figure out how to knit. Crazy week. I’m one of the “not so much” people about my own birthday, but I love LOVE love celebrations for others.

It’s a birthday weekend at our house. We began tonight with a nice at home dinner, courtesy of whatever was on sale at the grocery store and a great dessert idea.

Spinach & Tomato salad with sliced prosciutto, pears, & feta cheese
Baked Salmon Steaks
Parmesan Risotto (from a box, real risotto takes too long unless I’m helping someone else make it)
Toasted Garlic Rosemary Bread with prosciutto & sliced figs
Chilled Pears in White Wine

Baked Salmon Steaks (serves 2-4)
2 salmon steaks
1 lemon
1 garlic clove, minced
1 Tbsp olive oil
1/4 Tsp salt
1/4 C white wine
1Tbsp capers

Instructions
Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Put olive oil in small baking dish. Put salmon stakes in the oil, flip and sprinkle with lemon juice, wine, garlic, and salt. Flip and repeat. Bake for 40 minutes. Plate with a sprinkle of capers. Devour (and watch out for fish bones).

Actions

Information

3 responses

31 10 2009
the mistress

Your friend’s birthday sounds like Mattfest. Mattfest is epic. =)

2 11 2009
Sam

Happy Birthday, Mr. Perches! 🙂

2 11 2009
Heather

I love Birthday celebrations, and this meal sounds wonderful. Thank you for sharing, and birthday blessings to your family




