fortunate

28 10 2009

Today we’re focused on small things. Simple things.

The beautiful view from our back windows.

backyard

more backyard

Bebe chortling with glee as we play Tents (we’re teething again, so any glee is a wonderful thing).

Working on a little embroidery.

asheep wip

Making Chinese food (fried rice; tomatoes & eggs; green beans with sesame seeds; and misfortune cookies – i.e. a little mischief in honor of Halloween:
Beware of squirrels tomorrow.
Careful, you may be low on fuel.
Today is not your day & tomorrow doesn’t look good either. Sorry.

Soulemama has had a couple of lovely posts this week about gratitude & taking the time to recognize and appreciate the gifts in our lives.

I’m grateful for having shelter during these autumn nights. For having food when we’re hungry. For having the resources to stay home with Bebe for a while so that he always has at least one of us full-time. For having peace and safety. For happy laughter, sweet dreams, and community. For my family, both blood and kindred spirit. And yes, for fortune cookies – and the internet that helped me finally figure them out.

What are you grateful for? Leave a comment and you may win this giveaway: a set of 5 stitch markers (made by me) for you or the knitter/crocheter you love.

amber glass stitch markers

These are glass beads, and the rings will fit needles up to size 11/8mm. The recipient will be chosen randomly and announced here on Sunday, November 1st.

*** *** *** *** *** *** *** *** *** *** *** *** *** *** *** *** *** *** ***

Update: Comments closed. Thank you for participating in the giveaway! Winner chosen by a random number generator. Congratulations to…

Thanks for the link to the fortune cookie video. very cool! I also love your misfortune ideas
I’m grateful for my little guy’s sweet kissable cheeks, among many other things.

Posted by quirkygranolagirl

*** *** *** *** *** *** *** *** *** *** *** *** *** *** *** *** *** *** ***

Actions

Information

15 responses

28 10 2009
the mistress

The real question is, “What am I not grateful for?”
Most days, I feel like the luckiest girl in the world. I have a husband who thinks the world of me and friends of all kinds who support me even when I think I don’t need it (these things are mutual, of course). I even have a huge extended family that looks out for me. And, when I get home at night, I get puppy kisses and kitty drive-bys. My mind is enriched by my very interesting job and the opportunity I have to go to school. As long as I can find the laughter in anything, I’ll be happy. It’s not all roses, but life is good.

28 10 2009
lorena

i am so grateful for my happy healthy family!!

28 10 2009
m.e (cathie)

I am grateful to be around beautiful loving people, my family, my kids, my gorgeous partner. graterful I can enjoy little things that make me smile, that becoming a mother has made me more tolerant & patient with things & everyone around me.
grateful that I have also found your beautiful blog 🙂

28 10 2009
Tas

Today, in response to some heart breaking news shared by a friend yesterday, I am grateful for 3 healthy children.

28 10 2009
Grace Wong

I just found out what stitch markers were and I love the idea!

28 10 2009
Sam

I am grateful for so many, many things….though my Taurean side tends to rear up and demand even more. 😉 To name a few things I’m ever so grateful for – my wonderful husband, my crazy dog, my girls who are my sisters, at least one blood relative that I’m glad to call family, a stable job (even if it drives me crazy), and the ability to stay somewhat sane in such a crazy, crazy world. 🙂

28 10 2009
quirkygranolagirl

Thanks for the link to the fortune cookie video. very cool! I also love your misfortune ideas 🙂
I’m grateful for my little guy’s sweet kissable cheeks, among many other things.

29 10 2009
Jan

I’m very grateful for the love an support of my three sons and their wives at a very trying and painful time.

29 10 2009
tamar

i am so grateful for my family’s health and for the lovely home we have.

29 10 2009
Karen

Grateful for this wonderful life I have! Filled with special friends, a wonderful husband and two miracle babies growing into gorgeous little boys!

29 10 2009
saganaga

i am grateful for my healthy family & some recent good news

29 10 2009
The Queen of the Snow Cows

I’m going to try to not say all the same things as everyone else, though I am grateful for all those thing as well. 🙂

I am grateful for a delicious cold beer after a hellish day, the cold autumn wind in my face and crunchy leaves underfoot during the dog walk, and Mina’s fitful snores cuddled among her blankets while I am cuddled in mine.

30 10 2009
Miss Muggins

I am grateful for so many things. I am especially grateful that I can use my hands and my heart to create things, for my home, my family and my friends. I would love to win those gorgeous stich markers for my Mum, who taught me how to create.

30 10 2009
ottomania

I/am/grateful/for/a/house/full/of/kids(and/grandkids)/and/a/man/who/shops/and/cooks.
For/a/beautiful/sunny/day/with/the/promise/of/warm/weather/and/summer/not/far/away.
Sorry/for/typing/keyboard/is/stuffed.

31 10 2009
elizabeth

i have a lovely friend who knits and knits . . . i’d send these on to her. (i love to give gifts)

i am grateful for – so many things! wow! i am so grateful that a ‘house’ is not a home, but the people and the treasures in it. we have moved so very many times and lived in all sorts of buildings. but my home is my husband and my two wonderful kiddos and the little things i have that used to belong to my grandma and gifts from my husband and drawings by my children and the quilt my mom made . . . and i am oh-so-very grateful for God’s abundant grace. (this is the mini-list. it could be so. much. longer!)




