awake / asleep

23 10 2009

Lots of embroidery around here lately. Yesterday a sweet package arrived for Bebe from friends in Arizona. They’d given us some gorgeous embroidered baby gifts, including a onesie that he has nearly outgrown. So just in time to continue with LSU football season, he’s gotten a new shirt with the same adorable Tiger cub as his onesie.

tiger

Since it’s a size 3T, it should fit him for several more weeks months seasons unless he keeps growing like a manic bean sprout. We’re playing Auburn tomorrow, woot!

2 tigers

I finished another piece of embroidery yesterday – this time a harvest moon

harvest moon

and sewed it together with the sunflower

awake

asleep

to make an awake/asleep door hanger.

door candy - day

The idea came from another baby gift we’d received – a small door pillow in teal satin embroidered in bronze with “baby awake” and “baby asleep” on either side. We still use it on his door, but I can’t imagine him tolerating something that says “baby” on it when he gets a bit older and age-conscious so I thought about making something more symbolic. And voilá it is done.

So easy and fun, I may make a few more to sell. By early next week, I should have enough finished projects for a good startup inventory and will launch the shop. Keep an eye out for an Etsy update. Woot!

Actions

Information

10 responses

23 10 2009
The Queen of the Snow Cows

I love the door hanger…the idea as well as the beautiful execution! I also can’t get enough bebe…and this time with Beautiful Mommy too! Gods I miss you guys. He’ll be, like 47 before I see him again…lol!

And your beautiful pics reminded me of a blog I stumbled on…scroll down for the Aleida’s challenge.
http://ashleyannphotography.com/blog/

23 10 2009
perches

Oh, thank you for the link. That is a lovely, lovely blog. The Goat Whisperer entry had me snarfing milk out my nose (lovely, not). And yes, I appreciate the WARNING on the Day in the Life/Baby Sister entry – it really does cause a strong urge for babies. Too adorable.

23 10 2009
quirkygranolagirl

Is the door hanger a message to other people in the house that the baby is sleeping?

23 10 2009
perches

Yes, it sure is! And I like the new one because we can also use it when he’s older to make visible switches between daytime & evening routines.

23 10 2009
Jo

WOW great door hangers, and a lovely photo of you two 🙂

23 10 2009
Heather

Wow, everything looks so gorgeous. You do amazing work!

23 10 2009
the mistress

Lovely! I think I may need one for Mr. Bombs. LOL!
I’m with Queenie – I can’t get enough bebe.

23 10 2009
Pat Parish

I love to read your postings. It’s wonderful to get acquainted with you too, and to follow Bebe as he grows up. I’m so glad you’re doing this site.

23 10 2009
gardenmama

I love this idea, what a beautiful theme!
Your embroidery is lovely, we are enjoying embroidery too on these crisp autumn days : )

26 10 2009
Tonya

Beautiful handwork. Thank you for sharing and best wishes.




