small lovely

16 10 2009

stitch markers oct

These little trinkets are slowly coming out of my craft nook, pairs of stitch markers for knitting or crochet. They’re used when a pattern requires you to mark a place in the pattern – usually to note a change or edge of a repeated section – hence the name “stitch markers.” Most craft & yarn shops sell the little rubber ring markers, and you could also use a bit of yarn or a paperclip to get the same function. But isn’t it nice to have something pretty on your needles? The middle set above (the red glass hearts w/etched rose) are going off in the mail today for a friend, but the rest are going into a pool of shop goods.

Deep breath, and exhale, grinning. Yah, I will have an Etsy shop soon. A few logistical details to work out and meanwhile a small inventory of lovelies is in progress.

stitch markers oct wip

I do it for the joy it brings / because I’m a joyful girl
-from “Joyful Girl,” by Ani DiFranco

We’ve canceled our trip to the national zoo this weekend, the weather will be too dreary for the small babes. But we’ll reschedule soon, or maybe just go ourselves – Bebe has been prepped with pictures & signs for all kinds of creatures. We’re so excited for him to see them in person. So home and baking and cleaning and crafty goodness this weekend. I hope you find something lovely in your weekend, too.

Actions

Information

9 responses

16 10 2009
Heather

These are beautiful. Pretty stitch markers are a must in my knitting bag. I love how much more special they make a work in progress

17 10 2009
perches

Thanks, Heather. I love stitch markers – for the same reasons you’ve mentioned. My first-ever yarn order (allnoro.com) for my first-ever project came with a complimentary set of pretty stitch markers. I’ve been looking for additional ones ever since, but it always surprises me that stores only carry the plastic kind. Even at Maryland Sheep & Wool this year, I only found them at one booth! So I make my own.

16 10 2009
Sam

It would be an expensive outing given the admission costs but I bet Bebe would love a trip to the Baltimore Aquarium. They have a giant ray tank, a multistory fish tank and a dolphin show. Maybe we could go the day after Thanksgiving when you are up in Elkridge? That is, if the aquarium is open.

17 10 2009
perches

Umm… YES!!! We love aquariums.

16 10 2009
Suzanne

i just bought a couple of tiny charms on etsy but had no idea what i was going to do with them… until now. i love those!

17 10 2009
perches

Nice! I look forward to seeing your creations if you decide to post pics.

17 10 2009
gardenmama

Oh so lovely!
And loving Ani Difranco too! : )

17 10 2009
perches

Thank you 🙂 I brought out a bunch of my old Ani CDs and have been loving her music all over again.

18 10 2009
Sam

Having finally seen the photos (can’t see Flickr at work) – they are LOVELY!!! 🙂




