harvest

11 10 2009

A cool, blue day at the farm.

sunflower field

Today our time was blessed with old & new friends, tasty food (including ice cream sundaes, we love ice cream sundaes), harvest fields,  and so much fun.

pumpkin patch

Our Bebe wandered through a maze made from a field of tall, tall sunflowers. He cautiously watched nearby chickens eat corn and make a babble of noise. He also picked his first pumpkin, and played with other kiddos.

choosing a pumpkin

Of course the day could not be completely perfect. We made it home just in time for a mysterious fountain of stinky spit-up, which erupted everywhere several times and then subsided, with lots of cleanup and Bebe chirping happily – and a little hungry.

Meanwhile the world goes on.
Meanwhile the sun and the clear pebbles of the rain
are moving across the landscapes,
over the prairies and the deep trees,
the mountains and the rivers.
Meanwhile the wild geese, high in the clean blue air,
are heading home again.

– from “Wild Geese,” by Mary Oliver

It’s always a gift when there are happy memories to harvest. We hope your weekend had some, too.

Actions

Information

8 responses

12 10 2009
Heather

Beautiful post. I love the vest that your bebe is wearing. I hope that the ickiness is gone for good, and so glad that you had a great weekend. Here is to a wonderful start to the week as well

12 10 2009
perches

Thank you 🙂 We think the icky fountains have passed – it has been a peaceful, listening night and a healthy, chirpy morning.

12 10 2009
Linda Kristin

Hi

Thanks for sharing details on how you modified the vest – very helpful! Also love the corduroy pants you made for your baby, I’ve been thinking about making my son some. But it’s a bit hard to find time for all my creative ideas! But this inspired me!

12 10 2009
perches

Hi Linda, you are very welcome. I hope the mods were helpful for you. I am seriously in love with making little pieces for my boylet. I look forward to seeing your vest 🙂

12 10 2009
Jo

WOW look at those sunflowers and pumpkin, that wee vest on you babe is very cute too.

Thanks for your kind comments on my blog too 🙂

Have a great day

13 10 2009
Sarah

It sonds like he had lots of fun! The world must seem like such a strange place from their angle

13 10 2009
Hannah

I love that vest…adorable. I would love to know what pattern it is…I’m sorry if I missed it if you already posted it. Thanks!!!

13 10 2009
perches

Hi Hanna, the pattern is Pebble (Henry’s Manly Cobblestone-Inspired Baby Vest) by Nikol Lohr. I blogged about it here, and you can also see my mod notes on Ravelry. Hope that is helpful for you 🙂




