happiness

23 08 2009

This week Bebe & I visited a delightful yarn shop in Richmond, VA: The Yarn Lounge. Definitely a new addition to my list of Favorite Places. It’s in an area called Carytown, on a looooong street full of old buildings that have been converted into shops, boutiques, restaurants, etc. It seemed like a very pedestrian-friendly area, and there was lots of parking nearby – I was there around lunch-time on a weekday.

It’s a narrow, deep store, one room wide and 2-3 rooms deep. Dark colored shelves make all the colorways really pop out. Lots of nice buttons, notions, etc. in the front area. The Lantern Moon needle cases were gorgeous and very tempting, but I’m going to save the money for yarn and make my own case. Maybe – at least, it will get added to the Projects queu in my head. Pleasant & cheerful staff, very easy to talk to. They have a monthly knit night, and additionally there are two areas to knit in the store during the day – a long table running down the center of the store and a lounge in the back full of comfy chairs.

Oh, the yarn selection. Such a nice variety of brands, price, and colorways. I discovered Pagewood Farm yarns. Very tempted by the giant skeins of Willow Creek lace weight for the Fiber Trends Shoalwater Shawl pattern that I picked up a while ago, but I ended up with two smaller skeins of the Yukon sock yarn (pictured above) as well as my favorite Malabrigo Silky Merino in a delicious Rupestre colorway.

I also ventured into our new library system and checked out Victorian Lace Today by Jane Sowerby. What a beautiful book. New yarn + patterns = happiness.

Actions

Information

2 responses

10 09 2009
Auntie Marvid

I thought I was the only in the family who owned a Jane S. knitting book. Welcome to the club. I commend your skills. Love the pics.

10 09 2009
perches

My goodness, I love her Victorian Lace book. I’m not sure if I’m up to that level yet, but it’s so gorgeous!




